Nurse looking for advice about where to start...

Tessey

Hi all, 

I’m brand new to this page so any advice would be great. I’m sure this has been asked before and apologies for the repeativeness  but I’m confused about where to start. We have recently made the decision to try and relocate. We plan to move to WA on a PR visa so are looking at both the 189 & 190 route. We are both in skilled employment and could apply independently, however it will be me as the main applicant. (Slightly higher point score). 

We are planning on completing the process without an agent and have done some research however I’m not sure about the first step. I’ve read that some nurses apply to ANMAC first to complete the skills assessment while others to APHRA for provisional registration. Is there a benifit to doing one before the other? I have booked to complete the ILETS test as it seems that this is a requirement either way for the visa (also helps with points). I’m also presuming that until you have the go ahead from the skills test you can’t apply for an EOI? 

Any help and support would be fantastic. At the moment it feels like an overwhelming task! 

There are two aspects to getting your skills recognised.  One is the skills assessment you need to apply for the visa.  That is ONLY to satisfy Immigration.   It doesn't mean anything once you get to Australia. 

The other is completing whatever registration or licenses you need to work in Australia.  You don't need to complete those before you apply for the visa, and most people wait till they arrive (in fact, for many occupations, they can't do anything about it until they're living in Australia anyway).  Nursing is different.