Police Checks for N.Ireland resident

Jonleahy

Hi Folks a wee question I am applying for my police checks but as I hold an Irish passport, I have been told I should also apply for a police check from the Garda Siochana.

Has anybody any experience of this?

I have been a UK resident (N. Ireland) all my life

I have never worked in the Republic.

Any advise welcome.

I'm not sure what a blank piece of paper from Garda Siochana is going to help but I will look into how to apply for it anyway.

Thanks

Jonathan

Who told you that you need a paper from Garda Siochana? Police certificates are required from all countries you've lived in (12 months or more) within the last 10years. You say you have lived in N.Ireland your whole life so you will fall under the United Kingdom. The ACRO police certificate covers the whole of the UK, I got mine done for Scotland.

Taken directly from their webpage: "Police certificates from the ACRO Criminal Records Office cover England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland. All citizens and residents of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (including those resident in Scotland) should apply through ACRO Criminal Records Office."

Hi Folks a wee question I am applying for my police checks but as I hold an Irish passport, I have been told I should also apply for a police check from the Garda Siochana.

Has anybody any experience of this?

I have been a UK resident (N. Ireland) all my life

I have never worked in the Republic.

Any advise welcome.

I'm not sure what a blank piece of paper from Garda Siochana is going to help but I will look into how to apply for it anyway.

Thanks

Jonathan

Hi Jon,

We're down South and have done it.

See: http://garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=2742&Lang=1

The piece of paper will say that the have no record of any offences etc.

B

He says he has lived in N.Ireland his whole life. Why would he need a police clearance from a country he's never been a resident of?