Anyone going to Tasmania?

tasormelb

Hello to you all. I am new to this site. I have just applied for a 175 visa and have found information from this site really interesting.

I am a nurse and already have a fab job offer in Melbourne. When we visited Melbourne in January, although we were impressed with life style, friendly people etc we felt a certain something was missing. After researching at home we think the magic ingredient we are seeking is in Tasmania. However I an worried about work prospects in Tas for my husband, he has worked as a supervisor in a small warehouse for the last 20yrs. Does anyone reading who lives, works or have visited Tasmania know how easy it would be for hubby to get work around Hobart?

Also we have 2 children 12 and 9 years. What are schools like in Tas? From looking on the internet I quite like the sound of the primary and high schools in Taroona, does anyone have any information about these?

Any information given will be appreciated no matter how small of trivial you might think it is!

:cute:

Guest Colin R

We live in Tassie and arrived here 18 months ago. I had visited many times before we moved here so it wasnt new! We love it over here We live in Kingston which is not far from Hobart. there are numnerous job opportunities over here and certainly for nurses. New investment is coming into Tasmania all the time and it is changing we are having a large direct factory outlet complex being built new the airport there are a number of big stores and warehouses springing up near the airport. and they all have distribution warehouses in Moonah ,Glenorcy or Derwent Park. I think that most have web sites , Clive Peters, Harvey Norman, Myers, Beacon Lighting, Retrovision,Fantastic Furniture, Bunnings, Mitre 10, there are loads more but sorry cant think of them off the top of my head at the moment brain gone!.