How much savings will I require

The Smith Clan

We are a family of 5 moving to Brisbane kids will be 13,11 and 7. How much in savings would you advise to bring or did you use whilst finding work and what would be the minimum amount of time we should at least account for (until get a job)

I am a social worker and my husband will be need to retrain for his gas engineer role also qualified mechanical engineer. I know I will also have to retrain so may not be able to jump into social worker role.

All help appreciated.

Maria x

I would suggest 6x your current monthly expenditure as a minimum plus the cash to buy a second hand car ($2k minimum as they are quite a bit more expensive in Australia) and maybe $5k more for setup costs (including rental deposit, some basics whilst you are waiting for your container to arrive (or the cost of replacing everything if you're not shipping).

Hopefully you'll get work quickly but increasingly people don't or the wages are significantly less than expectation just to secure that first job.

We got through £70k in 12 months but were rather extravagant as we were used to being affluent in the UK and didn't adjust as quickly as we should have!

I would suggest 6x your current monthly expenditure as a minimum plus the cash to buy a second hand car ($2k minimum as they are quite a bit more expensive in Australia) and maybe $5k more for setup costs (including rental deposit, some basics whilst you are waiting for your container to arrive (or the cost of replacing everything if you're not shipping).

Hopefully you'll get work quickly but increasingly people don't or the wages are significantly less than expectation just to secure that first job.

We got through £70k in 12 months but were rather extravagant as we were used to being affluent in the UK and didn't adjust as quickly as we should have!