Hi everyone, new to this forum

Guest Lindt

Hi everyone

Just to say we've got our visa's, house up for sale and soon to be on our way to Melbourne. Just a little concerned with the school system, got two children, 14 and 12, I know eldest would be ok starting secondary but concerned with 12 year old, she is not 13 until August 2007, so when we come over to Oz she will still be 12. Can anyone help.

Hubby is a sheet metal worker, and I work in a school, not sure where we are going to live in Melbourne, need to sort out work first or even more important 'schools', any suggestions for good schools, and if I e-mail schools do they send out 'school prospectus' about their performaces.

Thanks very much

Linda

The Taylor Family

Hi, this won't answer your question fully, but this is my experience and may be of help/

We're going to WA in January, we've managed to get a 3 month furnished rental (whilst our own furniture is in transit), I emailed the schools in that area (as we're arriving in their summer holidays). I emailed 3, one didn't reply at all, one was really friendly and informative and the other said it would depend on my address (as they have catchment areas). As it happens, we're in the catchment area for the 'friendly' school and the principle there couldn't be more helpful, he's even sorted out a pen-pal (via email) for my daughter (whose 11 and has very mixed feelings about the move.), who will be in the same class next year.

Alot of the schools have website, we don't have the benefit of visiting these schools first and we've gone off our initial impressions and instinct - I've since spoken to someone who has a child at the school and is really happy with the set up.

I'd email a few schools if you know the area you want to live in and see how you feel about the response. For Alexandra, having started High School in September, she'll return to Primary School, but I know that the school she will go to feeds into one of the top 5 High schools in the state.