Accounting work

Guest Brendan

Guest Brendan

I am in the process of submitting my skills test to the Australian Accounting Authorites, the monitoring agent on behalf the Aussie Govt. Is anyone clear on the critieria as I do not have a degree but I am fully qualified with over 10 years experience.

Also, does anyone know what the current situation is for accounting jobs in Queensland / Perth

Cheers

B

Guest Phil Olsen

Hi Brendan

I am located in Perth and employers are crying out for accountants. In fact Australia needs accountants desperately.

Are you a member of any accounting body in UK?

If you do not qualify for positive skills assessment, there may be possibilities with employer sponsored visa's.

regards

phil

Guest Brendan

Bloody hell Phil that was quick. I am a fellow of ACCC (FCCA) and have been qualified for 8 years. I have lots of experience as well as my professional qualification but did not sit a university degree.

I recently attended the Australia needs skills expo in London; mainly engineering and health sectors recruiting but most of the State Governments were pretty positive about my chances of getting employment,

Cheers B

Hi Brendan,

I'mnot 100% on this but a lack of degree may well not matter. I submitted my skills assessment to the ICAA in Oz and as my degree is non relevant (food & human nutrition) it was basically ignored and I didn't have to submit transcripts. They only wanted my CIMA transcript and exam results etc, and evidence of work experience (employer's references).

Good luck!

Guest spray21

This is slightly off topic, apologies, but I wonder if any one has any ideas about the following:

I'm thinking of re-training once in Oz next year, and am looking for something that I can work my way up in which will eventually lead to a good salary (even if I start on poor wages whilst training).