Any computer experts out there ?

Stuju

Hi All,

Just wondered if theres is any computer experts around who can advise- i have vista basic (on a compaq presario C700 laptop) and things were bad but now this vista thingy dosent like any websites or really messes up each time i try to type on this forum or a site or email etc.

We also have a Acer laptop (daughters) which has Windows XP home edition on it, we have a complete recovery pack for this laptop.

we have decided not to upgrade to a better vista programme as everyone we have spoke to says the other packages arent any better.

So what i need to know is will i be able to completly wipe my compaq of vista and install using the windows xp recovery pack to put windows xp onto my compaq laptop.

Thanks very much

gizmo

I'm not an expert but I know a little about computers. I don't think using the recovery pack for Windows XP is going to install a full version of XP on your compaq laptop. If it came with vista installed then you would need to take vista off and put a full version of XP in its place.

Hope this helps a bit Gizmo,

Felicity:cute:

Guest taffy 62

You should be able to install it back to it original factory condition to when it was bought. either by running a restore disk or pressing a key on the laptop.

you would need to save or email someone the things you want keeping.

its a pain in the butt to do but usually clears all problems or viruses.

i found if i installed msn on my computer it didnt like it and i had problems. the computer started running really slow and was infuriating to use.

i couldnt install one to another on mine i had windows 98 and my friend gave me windows xp but my computer wasnt able to deal with it, maybe going from better system to worse (older) may work but i couldnt say for definate.

Guest taffy 62