any nurses out there

Guest Julie

Hi I'm Jules just starting the process for immigration what a nightmare. I want to move to Brisbane with my husband and two children in the near future and would appreaciate any advice regarding the best visa option.

I have also taken a career break of two years and wouldlike to know whether this would affect my applicaton or not. cheers Jules x :lol:

Hi Julie,

I'm a nurse too. Are you on a career break currently? My friend had to apply via the sponsorship route because she had been on Mat Leave and therefore hadn't been working for the required number of years (I'm not sure what that minimum limit is but I think it's something like 12 out of last 18 months), so if you're on a career break now, it may affect which visa type you apply for (but I'm not absolutley certain as I didn't go down this route).

The other thing with a career break is to check your policy at work - I had considered this but the policy at our hospital has clauses regarding paid employement unless it is to further your skills and development (which I would have argued that I was going to do).

The first thing you need to do (if you havn't already done it) is to apply to the ANMC to have your skills assessed. You have to do this befor applying for a visa if you want to go on your skills. The forms were easy enough to fill in, but I had to wait ages for my manager to get round to producing a reference for me. They have a website and everything you need to know is on there. Unlike the UK the ANMC doesn't hold the central register and you have to register with whicheve state you want to work in (if you move to another state you'd have to re-register)

Hope this helps

Ali

Guest Phil Olsen

Hi Jules

where do you want to live and work.

If WA, let me know, I have contacts here who are looking for nurses, and there are a number of routes you can follow.

Kind regards

Guest Brissiebound

Hi Julie,