Transferring NHS Pension

ali

I know there were changes in April regarding transfer of pensions. i don't want to end up paying 40% tax on my pension and want to transfer it, but am having alot of trouble finding out info. i know Aus companies now have to have certain requirements - can anyone help or have they been given advise?? :?

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Ali

Try having a look at the Tax & Money section of the forum on Go Matilda. The reason why I suggest this specifically is because Alan Collett (who owns Go Matilda) is a chartered accountant as well as being a migration agent. He now lives in Oz most of the time and has done the Ausralian tax exams too, so his advice is almost certainly accurate.

http://gomatildaforums.com/6/ubb.x?cdra=Y&s=321607117

Cheers

Gill

I'm no expert at all, but really look into this as it's virtually impossible to take your pension (Super) out of Oz before you retire. So if you transfer then decide to move back to the UK your pension will be locked up til you retire. I couldn't release any component of mine when I moved back to UK. Some of it might come under a voluntary component and I believe if enough hoops are jumped through you can release that under some circumstances.

If it were me I'd leave it in the UK until you're really sure you're not going back.

The problem is, if I leave it in UK, when I do get it I'll have to pay 40% tax if I'm still in Aus. I really don't intend to return to UK (although without the benefit of a crystal ball who can say). I've been paying my pension for 24 years, which under the nhs scheme means I've got 28 years as they double up after 20 - so I want to get the most I can from it.

Ali

Then why don't you leave it in the UK until such a time you are sure you won't return, and don't take out citizenship, then return to the UK 'permanently' then have a change of heart after you've withdrawn your pension.

:wink: