189 visa info?

kenny86

Hi all. Really considering moving to oz as im sick of birmingham! Ive briefly worked here before and am currently here with my wife and 3 children in brizzy on a 3 week holiday. I have a few questions but will start with the visa first! Im 27 and my wifes 24 and we both have a trade on the SOL so was thinking of going for the 189 visa. Does anyone know how long this one takes and what would the best/quickest migration agent to use? Also, does anyone know if id have to take australian tests as ive heard uk qualifications are not same standard as oz? (class 1 welder) Thanks in advance guys.

I've submitted my EOI for a 189 Visa last week. As a teacher, I had to get my qualifications assessed by the Australian teaching authority. I also sat my IELTS test so I had more 60 points min for the visa.

I've not bothered using a migration agent as it's just myself that's applying.

How does the assessment work? Can it be done in the uk or does it have to be done in oz? And by the sounds of it I take it has to be done before you submit an application? Im one of the lazy ones that would rather pay to have it done properly than make a pigs ear of it!

I had to send my undergraduate degree certificate (showing exactly what modules I had studied), my teaching certificate (showing modules studied, age of pupils taught and how many hours I spent on placement), a letter from my work saying how long I had been employed (not sure that was actually needed), copy of birth certificate, passport sized photo. Everything needs to be certified. I also had to send a letter in from my solicitor too saying he had seen all the original documents. It took about 10 weeks for me to get the approval. You'll find info about your assessing body on the website.