189 Visa - Help!

Suz

Hi,

Prior to planning to apply for the 189 visa I self tested myself against the points test requirement and met the min score of 60 as below.

Age - 28yrs - 30 Points

Lang - 7 EILTS - 10 Points

Skilled Emplo - 4yrs at least - 5 Points

Education - Degree & ACCA - 15 Points

60 Points

I therefore went ahead and completed the EILTS with a score >7 in all components and got positively skills assessed as a 'General Accountant'. Both my university degree and ACCA qualifications were assessed as being equivalent to an Australian bachelors degree.

However, upon receiving my skills assessment outcome letter I noticed that the years of skilled employment has been taken into account from the date of having completed my ACCA Accounting qualification. This has thrown me off as I have been working in the accounting industry for 7 years post graduating from university and was expecting to get at the very least 5 points for being in skilled employment for a min of 3 years. Only 1 year and 3 months of skilled employment has been recognized, meaning that I still have another 1 year and 9 months worth of skilled experience to achieve. To make matters worse the EILTS and Skills assessment expires after 2 years and therefore I would need to start all over again it seems.

I understand that the information from the assessing authority regarding skilled employment is only advice, but I am worried that if I go ahead and submit an EOI and then lodge the application this may be a problem resulting in a waste of money and further time should I not be successful.

Any advice would be very useful?

An option I am considering. - As the assessing authority (CPA) provide 1 amendment to the skills assessment result free of charge, I was hoping to redo the EILTS test and score 8 in all components in order to get 20 points. This will enable me to meet the min score of 60.

Any advice on the option I'm considering?

Many Thanks

S

Hi Suz,