Scotland to WA on a 190 subclass with de facto partner

ballyally

Good Day All,

New to the forum and looking forward to some good discussions and advice!

After finally discussing and researching at length, my girlfriend and I have decided that Australia offers a better lifestyle and opportunity for us and our future together. We are both UK citizens living in Scotland.

My girlfriend is a qualified Architect and I work in Logistics for the Oil and Gas industry. Although I have over 5 years experience and in a mid-senior level position within the company (who do not have any Australian interests) I do not have any post secondary school education. My job doesn't require any formal qualification either, just hard work from the bottom up!

With this in mind we feel that the 190 state sponsored visa is the best route to go with my girlfriend as the main applicant and myself as her de facto partner.

Her job is on the WA and NSW CSOL for those regions.

We feel that WA is the best place for us given the Oil and Gas related positions that exist for myself.

There are many posts on this forum and finding the most useful info is difficult.

Can anyone offer any thoughts on the above? Are we going down the right route? Does anyone have an understanding of the timings after the EOI is approved? My concern is the proof of de facto relationship. The skillselect website criteria for de facto partner's seems to have changed slightly. My girlfriend and I havent lived together so I'm not sure what proof would be required.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I've posted a similar thread on the welcome page so I apologise for duplication!

Ballyally

I'd agree WA is your best option for oil/gas opportunities, I do not think you will be able to apply as a de facto partner though.

From the immigration website..

[h=3]De facto partner[/h]

A person is the de facto partner of another person (whether of the same sex or a different sex) if: