Tax questions for a Working holiday visa

tingtongman

Hello I have a few questions about the taxation in Oz. I plan to spend all of my WHV working, with the main focus being work and not travel or sight seeing. My goal is to gain as much money as I can after the 365 days.

1)

When I fill in information for a TFN:

Do I get the option of saying if I am a resident or non- resident? Or do I fill in myself when I get Employment Declaration for any jobs I have?

I understand what is required to be considered a resident or non-resident at at the end of the day

the matter of whether you are a resident or a non-resident for tax purposes is between you, the taxman and if you both can't agree, the court.

2)

http://www.ato.gov.au/

Visiting the site above, I have the option of going as a "individual" or as a "business" (sole trader).

To set up as a business you must:

You provide the following information when you register for an ABN:

• entity type - for example, sole trader or partnership
  • contact details
  • bank account details
  • details of associates such as the public officer of a company, directors, partners, members or trustees – if an associate is not themselves registered with us we will also need to verify their identity documents as if they were registering themselves.

I could set all that up while being in the UK. Would this option be reasonable for someone on a WHV? As I could label my travel costs as taxable etc. Or am I just being too far fetched?

thanks.

thanks. So I guess at any point in filling in either my TFN or Employment Declaration I wont have the option to put one or the other?

But im confused so is this website incorrect?

http://www.workstay.com.au/working_holiday_tax.htm