Advice on Carpenters Tools.

Agibb83

Hi All we are due to depart scotland in august for our new lives down under, i am a carpenter to trade and am getting together a list of tools in which i should be taking, which is my basic hand tools, and roughing/finishing nail guns i have got a cordless planer would this be worth bringing? (bosch) as for chop/table saws i was advised a while back to just sell them on due to the way these are wired or something would this be correct? however my main question was do carpenters use paslode nail guns in oz? the reason i ask this is if they tend to use other makes then this maybe because it is more difficult for paslode parts if these things ever required repairs. also what is the best things to clean these down? also do they want the inside of these cleaned out also. thanks in advance ps what are the cost for tools over in oz ? are they roughly the same as here in the uk?

tools seem alot more over there. just google tool shops in aus. im a chippy too. where r u moving to? have u got work lined up?

Hi surfandsea, we are moving from scotland to mandurah ive nothing set in stone yet no, are you busy enough and where are you located yourself?

im in essex uk and have loads of work. we are heading out to oz next year,but worried as i hear there is a lack of chippy work. we wanna be on the east coast. hows work up where you are?

work in scotland is not the best, it is getting better but ive now been offshore for 2 years, ( with a sparky from essex who is bonkers ha ha) really good job here but now we have recieved the visa i think its time to take the plunge and go for it, i have a few mates out there as carpenters and they have all said , there is plenty of work they got jobs with in a week or 2 of being there and this was at the start of this year.

sounds promising man. . ive jusf come back from a rwccy and the east coast is pretty slow but hey someone should employ me ill just hound evey building site till i find work.