Difference between Subclass 189 and 190 ?

ssoffline

Hi,

I am new to this forum, please point me to such a discussion if already there :twitcy:.

I am a software engineer working as a java developer holding B.Tech in computers with 6 years of experience.

Can you please help me know which class I fall into of these two ?

Also some consultant told me that 189 is almost closed now and very difficult to find job under, can people here please guide me.

Many thanks!!

Sameer

:biggrin:

Googling your question and this site came up: http://www.skillselects.com.au/latest-news/skillselect-difference-between-subclass-189-visa-subclass-190-visa/'>http://www.skillselects.com.au/latest-news/skillselect-difference-between-subclass-189-visa-subclass-190-visa/

logo.png

[h=1]SkillSelect: Difference Between Subclass 189 Visa & Subclass 190 Visa[/h]

Subclass 189 Skilled Independent Permanent Visa and Subclass 190 Skilled Nominated Permanent Visa are two of the visa categories that are supported under SkillSelect.

SkillSelect is the nearly 3-month old migration program of the Australian Government. In SkillSelect, an intending skilled migrant has to submit via SkillSelect website an Expression of Interest (EOI). Those who have completed and passed the points required under SkillSelect Points Test are eligible to be invited to lodge a visa application.

Subclass 189 Skilled Independent (Permanent) Visa

This is a point-based visa. This means that one has to complete and get the necessary 60 points under SkillSelect Points Test to be eligible to be invited to lodge a visa application under this visa category.

Subclass 189 Visa is meant for intending skilled workers who are not sponsored by a family member, a state or territory or an Australian employer.

The perks included under this visa category are living and working permanently in any parts of Australia, and certain family members of the intending skilled migrant can be included in the visa application.