Considering Aus

Laura2013

Hi I am a 19 year old student not feeling too great about Uni at the moment and feeling very tempted to spend a year or two in Oz.

How much money would a year need? Including visa, accommodation etc

Also, bit worried about going alone, Is anyone in the same situation??

Laura in all honesty I would suggest sticking it out at university, perhaps changing to another course if you are not enoying the current one.

You can get a one year WHV to Australia and I believe they recommend having about 5k in the bank, if you do three months of regional work you might be able to get another one year visa. Most WHV holders are a little older than you as far as I can tell, in their 20's, I think that you could get more out of the experience if you held off for a few more years.

Hi, I have to say that I was in the same boat as you are now a couple of years ago. I really didn't enjoy uni at all but I decided to stick it out and I got my degree in June last year. Now i'm working full time to save for heading over on a working holiday in september and I can't wait. You need to have about $5000 AUD in the bank.

I was advised to stick it out at uni by people who took gap years and said that they found it very difficult to get back into the swing of studying. Having said that if your course is not something that you are enjoying at all or you have changed your mind about what you want to do with your life then perhaps staying at uni isn't the best thing for you. If you need any advice i'm happy to help! :)

Hey! Thank you yeah I know it would be the best thing to do to stay at Uni but having a nightmare with exams and with the new £9,000 a year cost don't think I could contemplate resitting!

I have a friend in Adelaide who says I could live with her for a while, just a bit skeptical about finding work.

I really dont know, its something I really really want to do and have wanted to for a long time, its just if I have the courage to go! Its so scary!

xxx