Beginner Visa advice : 457 - temp/perm residency

TheBronzeMedal

Hello people, Im new to this so dont bite ;)

Im a 23 year old Scottish lad, healthy and clean records on me and licences. I have just finished my two year working holiday visa in Australia, Im a caprenter/Joiner and I have great refferances in O.Z. I want to live there to come and go at my please. Not sure what I apply for although I have been all over the immi.gov. I have an o.z bank account, car & bike licence already after my travels.

Im seeking advice on visas.

1 - Is it better to get my own 457, how much and what would be involved in this process.

2 - Or is it easier to get Sponsored for two years then apply for temp.

3 - Or as Iv been there for two years on my working holiday can I apply for my temperary residency now.

4 - Or reaching very far can I apply for my perment residence now after my two year working holiday.

Any advice you give will be greatly appreciated.

Anyone can apply for PR straight away, the deciding factor as to whether it will be granted will be based on your skills and experience etc. You can either go for skilled independent migration, where you would need to submit an expression of interest, meet the minimum requirement of 60 points, and then get put in to a pool and wait for an invite, or you can go down the 457 long stay skilled visa route. The 457 visa does not mean you automatically move to PR, or are granted it. If you were able to get a 457 it is essentially a working visa, that is renewable, but has no indefinite period to remain. You would need to apply for PR subsequent to that visa - with the costs that entails.