Bricklaying skills test

barry family

Hi everyone this is the year we are moving to Australia (cant wait so excited to do it). I have just passed my IELTS test and in Febuary I have a bricklaying skills test in London. Can anyone help me with some info on what the test entails i.e what do you build , written test , time limit etc... Ive been doing bricklaying for 22 yrs but just wanting to know what to expect. Thanks in advance for the help it is much appreciated

Seriously, you'll turn up they'll give you a drawing of a single skin corner racked up one side with cut up done with hammer and bolster, no disc cutter......lol....then the return is shorter but squared up,i think off memory one side was 4 long and the other was 5.5, oh and a pillar about 600mm away from one end, pillar was about 15 course high with a corble on top and filled in with headers, just make Sure you use a square cause they will to check it and follow the drawing to the letter, oh yea gauge they check so make Sure it's spit on and use a string line when seeing out pillar to wall cause he'll check with a long straight edge.

You'll have to set out the cavity but only one course but make sure you use the ties all the way up spaced and in the right course, oh and they pull on them too to see if you've missed any and pushed them in later.....lol .

Apart from that though that's about all it is,i think there was only about 230 bricks in it so it won't be the hardest days work you've ever done....lol

Good luck but I'm sure you won't need it.

Ps

That's when i did mine but i was in the first ones to ever do it so don't know if it's changed