Construction Project Managers

fergamy

Hey all,

well i am at a bit of a crossroads with my job at the moment, I'm a carpenter,working in Perth, with 12 years experience nearly all of that as a foreman/supervisor,i have heaps of work here but want to progress my career. I know i won't be able to stay on the tools for the rest of my working life.

So my question

Are the project management courses worthwhile or am I better off doing a diploma?

Am I mad to be even thinking about getting into this side of construction?

How can i kick start a career in project management?

many thanks

I was in the same sort of predicament when I was in the UK in my late 30's. I had an apprenticeship as a fitter with the coalboard, worked for several different companies over a few years, so had heaps of experience. Jobs were disappearing fast though and it got to the point where I had to decide whether to go back into education and try and change my career path or just carry on. I was single at the time so chose a HTC course followed by a 3 year degree. Didn't enjoy it that much 'cos I had been used to having as much money in my pocket as I needed for anything I fancied from being about 16. Going back to surviving on a grant and living in student digs was a shock to the system.

It's worked out great now, 20 years down the track where I now work in IT and have done project management and several other interesting jobs.

I don't know about the project management courses as a means to getting a job. I guess they will give you the theory and show you what tools are available as a PM but you still need the first job to get the experience. You will be taking a hit in salary for a few years probably, with no guarantees of a better job at the end of it. Project Management is pretty stressful, sometimes meaning being available 24 hrs a day and maybe wouldn't be a heap more money than your on at the moment.