Bridging visa and seperation

Guest Janujanu

Guest Janujanu

Hi I'm new to this and am hoping someone can answer my question.

My boyfriend is married and is awaiting TR. He has been married for 1 year but been with his wife for nearly 3. She sponsored him and he is on bridging visa A. They have been unhappy now for six months and are not even on talking terms.He has tried to work on the marriage but she won't co operate and has told him to leave her because she knows he will get deported. I met him four months ago however he has had enough of the marriage and wants to separate even knowing that he will no longer be covered by the visa. If he separates from her am I able to sponser him as a de facto? Is there anything I can do to keep him here as we are both very happy and are in love.

Wow, he hasn't been trying very hard for the last four months!

I am no expert AT ALL but as you haven't been living together for a year (which you couldn't legitimately do as he is on a visa linked to being with his wife), I would say your only option would be divorce for him. Of course in oz you have to show you have been separated for a year to get this. And then a prospective marriage visa due to the less than a year thing.

Does he have a job which he could apply for residency in his own right?

Is you moving to his country for a year a possibility?

Is he under 30 and not had a working holiday visa before? If so that could be your year living together, as well as a year to be able to think about divorce. However he would probably need to do the three months regional work to get the second year for it all to work out.

Other long shot, but maybe a possibility if he has some money is to enrole on a course for 18 months or so.

It is definatly a tricky one.

Good luck!

My first reaction is that you can do nothing......it's all too short a time....

Presumably he emigrated with his wife (or to her if she is Australian) so he has to sort it....