NHS Pension - should I ?

Hi my name is Kate,

I have been in oz for 4 years and I am now a perm resident. We are settled as a family and will be staying here indefinately. I have a UK NHS pension and I would like to know how to go about transferring it ( if I should?) obviously don't want to pay excessive fees for this so any info you have would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

KTJ :wink:

Guest The Ropey HOFF

This is such a complicated question and it is impossible to give you exact advice. We have over 50 years of public sector pensions between us and to us we see no sense in transferring them, we have had experience of private pensions and they are rubbish and not worth having so drawing it out and re-investing it will see it worth very little IMHO. Your NHS pension, is index linked and final salary which means its guaranteed a certain amount, if you take it out and pay god knows what fees and taxes and put it in another scheme, is crazy to me, but if you leave it here, the current exchange rate means its worth a lot less in real terms in Australia, but we have ten years to retirement and hopefully the uk has recovered from this long financial slump and the exchange rate goes back up to $2 to £1 but it's all a guess and it all depends on how many years you have and whether you intend on staying in Australia, I have heard if you move it over there, you can't bring it back and it is all a personal decision. Best of luck.

Hi! Thanks a lot for the reply. I have about 25 ish years to retirement so I could leave it I guess and hope that it's worth something by then! I just want to make sure I don't 'lose it' since I worked so hard for it in the first place!! Lol thanks again

Cheers! :wub:

Hi my name is Kate,