Another unsccesfull tra outcome

The Adamsons

Feeling rather deflated today, got the very unwanted unsuccesfull TRA outcome letter. however here's my story.

Applied for TRA on 16th April, TRA received on 23 April. I applied as a gasfitter as I have been working with British gas for the last 12 years, Prior to that I was a Mechanical fitter/turner, fully time served, ONC and half an HNC in mechanical engineering, I done this for 11 years. After redundancy I booked up for the college to train as a gas engineer, my original trade/apprenticeship was recognised and therefor I could qualify without having to complete an apprenticeship as a gas fitter. There's where the problem lies, TRA say as I dont have an official apprenticeship as a gas fitter I am not suitably qualified. I wasnt planning on being a gas fitter in oz and I was going to return to my original trade as a mechanical fitter/turner but as I have not been working as this for 12 out of the last 24 months I couldn't apply as this.

The only way around this that I can see is if I return to my original trade and do this for 12 months and reapply, or I could try and get a sponsor 457 visa which I very much dont want to do.

Hopefully I'm missing something and all you helpfull POIers could point me in the right direction

Here's hoping!!!!

Guest The Pom Queen

I'm really sorry to hear this, it may be worth having a chat with an agent to see what they suggest.

It may be work running you case past a registered migration agent - after 1 July the 12 months out of 24 work experiance requirement has been removed from all GSM visas. And points are giving for number of years work experience in the last 10 years.

Speak to a RMA, but it may be worth getting your skills assessed from your original trade - points pass mark has been reduced to 60 on 1 July. Im sure fitter is on SOL 1.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/pdf/points-tested-migration-fact-sheet.pdf