Help needed. What to do first???

ImageConfident

Hi Guys.

I have tried searching the forum for answers but am so confused :wacko:

We are wanting to move out to Cairns as quickly as gathering the documents and finances will allow. But could really do with some advice and opinions on the best way to proceed and what to do first...

Background info:

I currently own and run a business (not on skills shortage list) so am thinking of using my previous career. I have a Bsc hons degree in Health Community and Social Care and was employed by local council as an Education Welfare Officer (4.5 years) finished employment in May 2012. The OZ equivalent career is a Student Counsellor and is on the list for a sponsored migration for Queensland.

Husband is a current serving Police Officer (11years) and has a degree in Mathematics.

I have 2 children (aged 12 and 11) by former partner, who they no longer see and who has a 5 min telephone conversation with every 6/8 weeks. We have been keeping a diary of evidence for several years due to problems with contact and treatment of the children. However he is a stubborn git. He does not have any parental responsibility. Both children are happy to leave him and have actually refused to go and visit him. I get minimal (£5 per week) maintenance from him.

Also we have a doggy (Cleo the retriever) who will def be coming with us.

We own a house but don't believe there will be much equity from the sale as and when we go, but not too worried about that.

Questions:

1. Would we be better selling now and renting somewhere cheaper whilst we save up?

2. Visa application/skills assessments - which comes first?

3. Do I apply for sponsored visa first or normal one? Also how do I get to be sponsored by the state in the first place?

4. Do I need the permission from biological father before we can submit the application?

5. Can I still use my previous career even though I no longer work there?