Visa 489 - Regional Provisional

bubbe2005

My brother gets his PR this year - that gives me 10 points to add to my exisitng 60 points

info about myself :

31 (going on 32 when he get his PR)

Bacherlors in Computer Science from London, UK

British Citizen

8 years IT experience in UK and USA

I will have to go thru the 489 visa with family sponsorship (from my brother once he gets his PR)

I meet the points - 70 points.

Let me know if this makes any sense to you.

First, I will be applying to TRA to get my skills assessed for occupation 313112 ICT Support

Second, PRAY for that to come back successful

Third, lodge EOI online

Fouth, hope to be invited to apply for relevant visa - 489

oh and one more thing, is it required of me to LIVE and WORK in ACT or WA where my occupation is listed on their SMP - even thought I'm not looking to get state sponsorship

My brother lives and resides in Melbourne, VIC, where I would want to be as well cause there's more ICT opportunites there.

Your occupation is on SOL 2 therefore your brother can not be a sponsor. Therefore you will require SS to be able to apply and you can sit the IELTS to gain the extra points you require.

Kindly explain more and provide sources to your statement.

• Nomination by a state/territory government or sponsorship by an eligible relative living in a designated area.
  • Invitation to apply.
  • Meet points test pass mark.
  • Nominate a skilled occupation from the relevant skilled occupation list.
  • Hold a suitable skills assessment.
  • Under 50 years of age.
  • At least competent English.
  • Other standard requirements including health and character.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skills/skillselect/index/visas/subclass-489/

Wheres does it state my brother who gets his PR this year cannot sponsor me because my occupation is on SOL2.

all it says is Nominate a skilled occupation from the relevant skilled occupation list, whether its from SOL 1 or SOL 2