Tips for getting a teaching job

Although I am a first timer, my wife and I have been using this website since January when we started the monstrous process of applying for Australia.

We have had our medicals and police checks and just awaiting the outcome for our visa. Very excited!! I have started looking for and applying for jobs but was wondering whether any teachers/lecturers in WA could offer any advice. I am secondary PE trained but have experience in Secondary, FE and HE and have been granted state sponsorship as a vocational education teacher as I have bene teaching vocational programmes for the last 7 years.

I was just wondering what the employment prospcts are like for teachers/lecturers and I want to be realistic in the jobs I am applying for. I have several years management experience but so far have assumed that australians would like to see some australian experience under your belt before you start leading anything. Is this true or would you recomend that I go for jobs similar to what I am doing now?

Also, has anyone got any suggestions on how write a killer letter of application to suit the Aussie employer?

Thanks, an excited and hopeful migrant

• 2 years later...

Hi,