The budget....a great big eff u

ginger

Well guys how was the budget for you all, if you're a 457 visa holder you probs feel the same as me. LAFHA has gone taking away $200 a week and they've upped tax to 32.5% taking $70 a week. So after that on an $80000 a year wage I need to bring up a family of 5....well that's impossible. My intention is to return hom but I have $20000 debt from coming over and then would accrue a similar amount to return. All chances of saving to return have gone and I need to leave in 3 years?

I cannot believe my ife has literally turned upside down so fast. We cannot get the childre looked after for my wife to work as we don't get nice rates at the nurseries etc.... that PR's get,we are now paying more tax too. I work in the mining industry....not the high end of it obviously and it's the mining tax which is paying for the improvements to so many peoples lives except for us workers.

I'm stuck here without a good future outlook. 2 weeks ago life was good now it's looking like I'm in my UK situation again...a lif a struggle ahead....bloody great.

ginger

The tax isn't 32.5%...that is only for taxpayers deemed non resident for tax purposes...457 visa holders are resident for tax purposes as are most people. You are confusing immigration status with tax residency status.

You will continue to receive LAFHA until 2014 if you entered into the arrangement before 8 May 2012:

"The reforms will apply from 1 July 2012 for arrangements entered into after 7.30pm

(AEST) on 8 May 2012, and from 1 July 2014 for arrangements entered into prior to that

time. "

(Source: See page 5 of this pdf:http://www.budget.gov.au/2012-13/content/bp2/download/bp2_consolidated.pdf)

Also, I believe that there is a phase out period for the LAFHA. So is not going to happen tomorrow.

I assume you would eventually want PR? So you would have lost it then anyway.