nice areas in Sydney

Guest wietske

Guest wietske

Hi all,

We're moving to Sydney in about 2 weeks time - VERY exiciting - but haven't got a clue as to where to live yet. Boyfriend has a job in CBD so ideally somewhere relatively close to there but what are the nice areas? (I'm a freelance journalist and therefore somewhat more flexible but I dont want him to commute for hours just so that I can live somewhere nice). Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated, we'll have about 3 weeks to find a place and get settled before he starts his job!

thanks in advance!

Guest MoreSkippy
Hi all,

We're moving to Sydney in about 2 weeks time - VERY exiciting - but haven't got a clue as to where to live yet. Boyfriend has a job in CBD so ideally somewhere relatively close to there but what are the nice areas? (I'm a freelance journalist and therefore somewhat more flexible but I dont want him to commute for hours just so that I can live somewhere nice). Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated, we'll have about 3 weeks to find a place and get settled before he starts his job!

thanks in advance!

Hi...Just got back from two weeks reccie in Sydney...IMO, these are my impressions:

1) Stay away from the West (apart from the Blue mountains area). Firstly, crime is high in areas like Paramatta (I did hear of two crimes there in my stay!! - :shocked:)

Paramatta is an up and coming area but has still some bad reputation. If you did decide to go there, there are few positives like: food is cheap, rent compares well with rest of Sydney, and rail connections are extremely good - straight trains into CBD - including express trains!!!

Rents are roughly around $250 plus for two bed flat. Liverpool and Cabramatta are also rough areas...

Anyway, I am sure I have pissed off few peoples already!! But these are my impressions and trust me, some opinions about these areas came from the locals!!