English test

Austen73

Has anyone done the English test to gain access to Australia..... I am in a bind, to gain the points required I need to ace the test. Found out that aparently 80% of people doing the test are failing.... I want to go to Au to be a Chippy/supervisor not a English teacher. I have a diploma/advanced city & guilds carpentry & Joinary, NVQ level 3, SMSTS (site manager) etc and it looks like our dreams of going to live in Au are finished..

Can anyone advice please before I have yo tell the kids the bad news ☹️.

cheers

Austen.

Are we talking a IELTS/Pearson tests. I've got to do mine. Also a chippy by the way. A friend of mine who's no brain surgeon has just done his with Average 8.5. I've been panicking mine and which one to go for.

I have read so much on here about peeps doing 4 or 5 tests but some that breeze it.

good luck with it. I'm going to book one this weekend. Heard the IELTS can be formatted differently to Pearson and people find the latter more favourable.

Has anyone done the English test to gain access to Australia..... I am in a bind, to gain the points required I need to ace the test. Found out that aparently 80% of people doing the test are failing.... I want to go to Au to be a Chippy/supervisor not a English teacher. I have a diploma/advanced city & guilds carpentry & Joinary, NVQ level 3, SMSTS (site manager) etc and it looks like our dreams of going to live in Au are finished..

cheers

Austen.

I have no idea if your 80% figure is correct or not, but remember that this test is mainly taken by non native English speakers, usually for access to study courses. Native English speakers taking it for points on the Australian visa system will very much be in a minority.