Questions on Spouse VISA 309 vs 100

DaveS

Hi All

My wife and I have been cohabiting since around June 2010 & we have a child.

*Will I stand a shot at getting the permanent visa? (100) (I suppose what I am really asking is - do they look at the point of application for the cohabitation time or the point of visa issue)

*How much will the 309, temporary visa hamper me when looking for permanent work?

Cheers

Dave

Hi Dave,

For info, my wife and I had been cohabiting for 4 years (and married for two) when we applied for my 309/100 visa and were hoping that they'd bump me straight onto the 100, but unfortunately that didn't happen, so I'm here on a 309 at the moment.

We dont have kids so not certain of whether that will make a difference or not, but I'd have thought it may well do.

When applying for jobs, unless you are specifically asked, I'd suggest not to disclose which visa you are on (in particular dont put the info in your CV). You are likely to get asked at some point though, especially if they like what you can offer, at which point it's likely that they'll need some reasurance that you will be sticking around!

I've been here 6 months in total and have spent the last 4 months looking for a job - I've not been scatter gunning my CV about though as I have only been targeting certain roles (only applied for around 20 jobs in total so far). It's not that I dont want to work or am a lazy bleeder, its because I need to do a job that genuinely interests me and is varied, or else I'd go mad!

Fingers crossed as I have a second interview for a position in about an hour (they know my visa situation as they asked at the first interview and I (hopefully) convinced them I'll be sticking around here, which is definitely the case).

Good luck with everything mate!

Guest Guest31881