Pre-Primary/Early Years teacher

RoxyRoo

Hi there,

I know that I cant work in Australia as a teacher because I gained my teacher status via the GTP route and not PGCE but I am a Reception teacher in the UK which is an Early Years teacher and wondered if anyone out there knew whether or not I can teach Early Years/Pre-primary?

I can pay to get my Early Years qualifications assessed but just wondered if anyone has gone through the same thing.

Cheers,

Roxyroo xx

Guest will4298

The missus is currently doing her PGCE and I'm interested if her qualifications would suffice.

I'm currently studying my social work degree and we're not sure who should be the primary applicant!

Sorry i can't help; I'm new to the whole Australia visa thing!

Hi there,

I know that I cant work in Australia as a teacher because I gained my teacher status via the GTP route and not PGCE but I am a Reception teacher in the UK which is an Early Years teacher and wondered if anyone out there knew whether or not I can teach Early Years/Pre-primary?

I can pay to get my Early Years qualifications assessed but just wondered if anyone has gone through the same thing.

I'm afraid you won't be able to work, or be positively assessed, for Early Years in Oz as it requires the same qualifications over there as Primary and Secondary school teachers - it must be a 4 year degree or a 3 (or more) year degree plus a 1 year full time ITT. If you have the GTP there isn't any point unfortunately in paying to get your skills assessed as it will be a negative assessment from the AITSL for Early Years teacher.

The missus is currently doing her PGCE and I'm interested if her qualifications would suffice.

I'm currently studying my social work degree and we're not sure who should be the primary applicant!