superann

Guest chrissy63

Guest chrissy63

:spinny:

In process of applying for 457 medicals next week hope all goes well. I am a nurse and have a nursing post. If there are any nurses out there what did you do with your superann did you freeze it or transfer it

Chrissy

Hi Chrissy...I will copy my reply to another poster here so you can have some info. If you leave a pension in the UK then when you go to take it later then it will be subject to currency risk and taxed in Australia whereas all pensions paid after age 60 in Australia will be tax free to the recipient.

it is possible to transfer occupational and personal pensions abroad to remove the risk of exchange rate fluctuations before you start taking a pension in the UK. Provided the overseas scheme that is to receive your transfer is registered with UK HMRC as a 'Qualifying Recognised Overseas Pension Scheme' ("QROPS"), then it may accept a transfer from a UK employer scheme or personal pension plan. There are a large number of these now in Australia to choose from.

To transfer any UK Pension Benefits to Australia, the following requirements must be met:

- Permanent departure from the UK with no intention of returning to work or retire;

- Employment or self-employment (includes self employed investor i.e anyone under 65) in Australia;

- Australian residency for tax purposes;

- No part of the UK Benefit commenced paying a pension;

- Payment directly from the UK scheme to a 'Qualifying Recognised Overseas Pension Scheme' ("QROPS") and aprroved by APRA in Australia

There is no UK tax penalty on transfers to QROPS schemes, though the QROPS is obliged to notify the UK HMRC of any payments it makes to someone who is either UK resident at the time it makes the payment, or has been UK resident in any of eh five years prior to the payment.

A list of QROPS can be found at

HM Revenue & Customs: Qualifying Recognised Overseas Pension Schemes (QROPS)