Painter & Decorator after some info!

northwest

Hi all and happy new year, lets hope its a bright, healthy and prosperous one! (cant spell)

Hoping somebody can answer a few questions for me please.

I am a painter and decorator moving out to Oz (WA) in Aug/Sept 2012 with my wife and two young kids on a PR Visa.

Is there loads of work for p & d's?

Is it consistant work?

How many hours a week do they usually do?

What is the pay?

What potentially can a decorator earn by the hour?

Is there a lot of site/price work going on and what can be earned by working hard on price work?

Just having abit of a wobble about the finance side of it and the cost of living Blah Blah.

Dont want to be rich, just want to survive and have a good quality family lifestyle and not work like a dog to make ends meet!

Would appreciate any feed back!

Many thanks

Ste

Hi ste

good luck with any answer you get on here, can only tell you what i know,

cut long story short, we have pr visa , painter myself ,did recky year and half ago

plenty of work but money not great, expect to earn around $32 to $35 an hour

house prices very expensive,rentals expensive, same as you wernt expecting to

be rich out there just work hard and earn a descent crust, did the maths and decided

we would be really worse of and struggle, so we sold our house here downsized and are

now staying in blighty, ok weather not as great as wa but better of here

if you wanna know more just get in touch

good luck

Dave

• 2 weeks later...
Hi just in early stages of emigrating to Brisbane, Could you give me any info on your visa as painter as this is my husband's trade and i was under the impression this skill is not on the skills list. Would appreciate any advice

Hi Crosshill,