The FIFO construction/mining jobs in WA experience...

Guest Hornster

Guest Hornster

Hi all,

I am a Chartered Occupational Health and Safety Professional looking to emigrate to WA. I have had quite a bit of interest in my skills and experience from Australian employers based in WA but 90% of the jobs are on a FIFO roster which is not exactly what i was looking for in mine and my wife's new life Down Under.

Is this typical for those working in the construction / resources sector in WA? Does anyone have any experience in this type of work who could shed a bit of light on what the lifestyle is really like from both a social and family situation other than the obvious?

Thanks

Hi Hornster,

I am a geologist in the mining industry and soon to move back to Kalgoorlie to start work in the mines again. My partner is a geotechnical engineer and we have always had the dilemma of working FIFO or residential. We've spent the last 3 years working in various FIFO jobs from the UK and are getting fed up of it.

The question really comes down to whether you want to live in Perth (in which case you will almost definitely only be able to get a FIFO job), or whether you would be willing to live somewhere more regional. So that depends on what you want in terms of your lifestyle, what your wife does for a living or whether you will be starting a family etc. So many factors come into this decision that only you will know what is right for you. In my opinion living somewhere more regional like Kalgoorlie has benefits such as going home every night, a closer community feel, lower housing costs etc, but the disadvantages are that you're further from the sea and there isn't as much to do in your time off and some towns won't have the range of shops and amenities.