Two Salary State- How much?

Guest ramblemum

Guest ramblemum

Hi, We are moving to Canberra this summer and have been looking into places to live etc.

I keep coming across the fact that both parents usually work as two salaries are required. We currently have three children 4, almost 3 and 13 months so I have not been working due to the high cost of childcare here in Edinburgh (I am a teacher).

I just wondered what you would think the average total amount a household would be earning. We are coming out on a 457 visa and whilst my husband is on the sol list and the schooling fees are wavered I am starting to worry that we are not going to have enough on just my husbands salary which is 150k, and we will have to look into childcare and registration for teaching for myself.

Thanks

150k will be fine, you shouldnt need to work on that. I would think that would be about an average Canberra household income. If you want to send the kids to Grammar then you might begin to think about getting a job but, honestly, you should be OK

Guest ramblemum

Thanks- the plan is to return into teaching once the middle child is a full time school this should give me some time to sort out registration, finding a post etc. I know the playgroups etc are a bit thin on the ground by the looks of it worried I will struggle to meet people once we get out there.

x

Thanks- the plan is to return into teaching once the middle child is a full time school this should give me some time to sort out registration, finding a post etc. I know the playgroups etc are a bit thin on the ground by the looks of it worried I will struggle to meet people once we get out there.

x