It's a funny old world...

fourcorners

Hi, I'm sort of new here, used this forum a few years ago but haven't had to for while!

We lived in WA (Kalgoorlie) for 18 months until April 2008 when we moved to Canada as my other half had secured a Phd there (British Columbia). Unfortunately that didn't work out and in December the same year we moved back to England. We lived with my mum whilst we found jobs which at times was very hard, but eventually I got a good job in Cornwall and we bought a house here in June last year. Andy got a job with an offshore drilling company and ironically is now working in Australia! He's working 6 weeks on 3 weeks off (with travel on his own time), so given the jetlag and travel he only really gets 2 weeks at home. And to make things worse he's found out he is being paid less than the cleaners at camp in Oz!

So we're now in the predicament of deciding whether to move back to Australia permanently. I am a geologist and whilst I've got a fairly good job here (by UK standards for geos), I know I could earn 2-3 times more in Australia. So from a financial and spending time together point of view it makes no sense to stay here. I accept that it's the nature of both our jobs that we spend time apart, and we have a lot since graduating, but this is really getting silly. I like my cottage in Cornwall but it feels very lonely most of the time.