Teaching in Australia?

Guest Beki

Hi Folks,

Does anyone know anything about how to get teaching qualifications verified and if there is any need to to do any re-training in Australia if I haven't worked for five years? Also should I have a reference from the last school I worked at? We're applying for a visa through my hubby who's a plumber/gas fitter.

I'm a primary school teacher who started having children 5 years ago (had my first, then twins 18 months later) My teaching salary would no-where near cover child care costs besides, I've had a wonderful time being full time Mum.

By the time we get to Australia our children will all be in school full time and I am hoping to get back to work once we have settled. :?:

If anyone knows anyting on the subject I would much appreciate your feedback!

Beki :?

What a Wally, I've just seen the section on careers and jobs, this is supposed to be in that section, Sorry!!!

I'm soooooooooooooooo bored! I'm replying to my own messages!!!!!! :oops:

You need to contact the department of education in the state that you are wanting to teach. You can get your skills checked via NOOSR but the state education department should be able to point you in the right direction.

You should be fine as long as you have qualified through the University degree route as some other qualifications have given people problems.

Good luck.

Nicky

Thank you Nicky, yes it's a Univesity Degree, B.Ed.Hons. I'll look into it, that'll keep me busy, this waiting game is driving me potty!

Regards Beki :D

hi all, my hubby and I are both teachers. Had all qualifications checked by NOOSR. We had been granted permanent visas. I am primary trained but have been working in a secondary school. He is a secondary P.E head of department.

hoping we will get jobs once out there.

Does anyone know the number to any departments of education in Queensland, or NSW?

Do we need to apply to the states to check qualifications if we have a permanent visa?

many thnaks