Can we process two SMP Apps in parallel

MissionOZ

Hello everyone,

I am new to Aussie Immigration. Also waiting for NSW SMP to come out that seems to be taking ages now. as SMP quotas are limited, I don't want to wait for eternity for NSW SMP while other state quotas are running out.

My question is can we apply for another SMP (e.g. victoria's) while waiting for NSW? and if I apply for Vic's SMP now, and later want to lodge another for NSW's; will it be a problem?

Some states want you to have interest in their state only. I think VIC is one of them. They have a way of knowing and may reject your application based on this. This as happened in the past as well. It is better to decide which state you wish to go to and then apply.

As regards NSW, there has been talk that their SMP will not be a large list so unless you are sure your occupation will be on it, it is worth waiting.

Guest VickyMel

In the past you could - some states were OK with it - others not. What the situation is these days I do not know - they now have quotas - I suppose the states may just oversubscribe the number of people they give SMP to to cover those that drop out or apply to more than one state and then leave it to DIAC to monitor the number of visas granted?

I know for example that VIC do not like you to approach another state and consider it very negatively and seem to have some way of checking.

Here is a thread of people applying to VIC it may be of interest

http://www.pomsinoz.com/forum/migration-issues/99554-new-vic-smp-where-you-now.html

I have seen other people apply to more than one state and then choose which they are going to follow through with.

Hopefully others will come and let you know re the other states position (maybe write and ask them?).

VickyMel