Recce - what we've found so far...

NZStidz

Hi all, just thought I would share my thoughts. We are here on yet another recce from NZ (been there for over 8 years) before we move to the Gold Coast permanently on Jan 3rd. Having an awesome stay at Ashmore Palms (would happily recommend it to anyone) and went to Pacific Pines with appointments at both Park Lake primary and Pac Pines High for our two sons (12 and 8). We loved Park Lake - as a teacher I was very impressed with the ethos of the school, we went into classrooms as the children were working and the atmosphere was fantastic - I wanted to be 8 years old again! Unfortunately not quite the same feeling at the High School - I can't put my finger on it but came away concerned that it wasn't right for my 12 year old (not saying it isn't right for others but every child is different!). We went back to our cabin feeling a bit flat and couldn't decide why. We went for dinner with the children in Broadbeach - we have always loved it there and suddenly we were reminded of why we love the Gold Coast - the atmosphere, vibrancy etc. We made a decision there and then to rethink our Pacific Pines decision on the grounds that to us it felt a little isolated. We have now had a look at Varsity Lakes - youngest would be at the Prep Campus and eldest at the Middle School north of the lake. We were blown away by the facilities, etc and all the reports seem good. We have been driving around today within the catchment area and really like the areas near the primary school, namely Azzurra Island, Varsity Sound but could really do with some "grass roots" advice about the area - does anyone live there who could tell me if there are any areas or streets to avoid or any ones that are particularly nice to live on?