moving to glenelg

Guest sharonchef

Guest sharonchef

hi,we are moving to glenelg SA in 5 weeks from the uk.what's it like?we are a married couple aged 40 with no children,i am a chef and my husband is in house building/maintenence.is there much work there and would we fit in?i am excited but very nervous as we don't know anyone out there.

Guest guest33730
hi,we are moving to glenelg SA in 5 weeks from the uk.what's it like?we are a married couple aged 40 with no children,i am a chef and my husband is in house building/maintenence.is there much work there and would we fit in?i am excited but very nervous as we don't know anyone out there.

sharonchef,

Glenelg is a great place but as usual it will depend on what you like, there are many restaurants in the area so plenty of potential employers , you also have the tram with direct access into adelaide central. Also the beach and lots of shops/bars etc. It gets crowded in the summer months and is very quiet comparably in the winter.

Personally I love visiting, would holiday there but wouldn't want to live there but I know many that would.

All the best with your plans

Daniel

p.s. check out our sister site at PomsInAdelaide: South Australia Migration & Expat Forum

Hi

I visited Glenelg for a few days last year...really enjoyed it. We stayed in a lovely little cottage about 2 streets away from the beach. There were lots of little restaurants and bars so hopefully work will not be too hard to find. It had everything that we needed including library, post office and supermarket. It was one of the nicest resorts we stayed in. The tram into Adelaide wasn't expensive and it didn't take too long to get there.

Enjoy

Hi there,