Calling all Pharmacists!!

bazness

Hi,

I am a UK Pharmacist and moving to Victoria in June/July. I have already passed the CAOP exam and the next step is to complete a 152 hour (over 4 weeks) supervised placement. I am finding it very difficult in finding a placement. Is there anyone on PIO who has completed the APC process and could give me some contacts who may be interested in offering me a placement? I am on a 176 visa and will be moving to the SE suburbs (looking at Mornington peninsula, and SE coastal areas) and will be willing to travel upto an hour for a placement as I am desperate! I have e-mailed the large companies, but havent received any replies! I am currently a Pharmacist manager in the UK, but will be willing to accept a placement in hospital pharmacy too if I am unable to secure a placement in retail pharmacy.

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you

Vanessa

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi Vanessa

We have had two clients come over who have been in exactly the same position as you. None of the companies seemed interested and there only way to get a foot in the door was to take on a sales position in a pharmacy and then once they had proved themselves they managed to get themselves the supervised position and from there both ended up working there full time. I even had one Russian family offer to pay them to allow his wife to gain the 152 hours and this didn't work but they were so desperate.

You may have better luck once you are here, if not drop me a pm and I can put you in touch with these people and hopefully they can help.

Kate

Hi Kate,

Thank you for your reply!

Once we arrive in Australia (18th June!!) I will probably have to go round the Pharmacies with my CV and try to beg for a placement!! Thank you for you advice and I will be in touch if i continue to have problems once we arrive in Australia!

Vanessa

• 1 month later...
Guest mjmm