Contributory Parent Visa 173 - Can I be a Sponsor?

Guest JackMouse

Guest JackMouse

Hi There,

My Mom want to apply the 173 congributory parent visa and stay with me in Australia. I wonder if I can be a sponsor, the followings are my situations:

1. I have got my Permanent Resident Visa for 2 years.

2. I am now a full time research student and do some causal jobs in University. I have a little more than 20,000 per year non-taxable scholarship as the main source of allowance.

3. I have only one sister so the familly balance requisite can be fulfill.

Now I wonder can I be a qualified sponsor for my Parent? If so, my Mom can apply this UT 173 visa. If not, She will wait untill I graduate and find a job?

Many thanks!

Jack

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Jack

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

As far as I know, there is no particular income requirement with a Sponsor for a CPV. The Sponsor merely confirms that if the Parent falls on hard times during her first two years in Australia, the Sponsor will provide the Parent with food, clothing, somewhere reasonable to live and enough cash to get by on, so that the Parent won't go without in Australia.

I would suggest that what you do is to e-mail the Parents Visa Centre on parents@immi.gov.au They were immensely helpful to me when I e-mailed them with a couple of queries prior to sending an application for my own mother's CPV 143. The PVC respond within a couple of days, usually, and I found that their replies were comprehensive and utterly sensible.

I would suggest that you tell the PVC about your current income and about the place where you live. If that is a bed-sit or a shared house, where will Mom live? She has the money for a CPV so she can't be destitute but CPV parents are not means tested.

My feeling is that you should try an e-mail first. If the reply does not cover everything or you have further questions afterwards, you could always phone hte PVC later, I suggest.