Calling all NSW teachers!!

Guest darling number 1

Guest darling number 1

Hi there,

I am moving to Sydney next month, but have some reservations about teaching there (becoming registered, etc). Has anyone been through this process and is willing to share any pearls of wisdom? I know that the independent sector is much easier (in terms of paper work) to find a job. I am a secondary business studies teacher, qualified to teach economics (but never actually taught it), could teach commerce and have 1 yr experience teaching ICT (Key stage 3).

Do I have a resaonable chance of finding a job (either public or private sector) do you think? Is there anything I should know when applying for teaching posts in this subject/linked subjects?

Many thanks in advance,

Darling number 1

Guest boomerangpommie

To teach in the public sector, you need to get approval from the NSW Education Department and this involves quite a lengthy process where you have to provide them with all of your certified documentation regarding training and employment but you can do the application form online. Part of the approval process is also that you then need to do a two-week induction course to learn about the curriculum etc and you go into school and have to be observed etc and then there is an interview. The following link will help:

https://www.det.nsw.edu.au/employment/teachnsw/overseas.htm