Medical Dilemma

Guest Alison1967

Guest Alison1967

My husband and I have just submitted our visa application (136) and have heard that nurses are currently being fast tracked. I have essential hypertension and am worried this might preclude me at the medical. I have had a glucose tolerance test that showed I am glucose impaired but do not have diabetes. Anyone have an advice on this? :)

Guest BrerRabbit

:? No advice on your med condition BUT get the name of your local GP authorised to do the australian medicals and give him/her a call to ask baout it before you spend the money. They'll maybe say they can't discuss specific things with you or give immigration advice but it's worth a phone call to see.

Try posting your same quesion on an agents forum to see if anyone else has comments/suggestions (we use http://www.australia-migration.com forum whcih has some very useful info on it and the agents post replies too)

hope this helps

Zoe :)

Guest Mel & Ed

HI Alison,

I am a nurse also and from what ive heard i cant imagine that it will be a problem as it should not permit you from working in the near future.You are not likely to be what Oz calls a health burden with this condition.Dont worry most people have got a few little gems on their medicals (including me , a cardiac one) .I have only just sent visa application so havnt had our medicals requested yet, but im not overly worried as ive heard so much about people getting through with all sorts of conditions.

All the best

Melanie.

I posted a similar response to a family with Type 1 diabetes yesterday, All medical conditions are individually assessed; the only condition that automatically precludes you entry from Oz is TB.

We had our visa granted in July 2004 (4 year independent skilled), finally sold our house etc by December, flights booked for Jan 05 with a job lined up etc.