Will I be able to work?

RueA

Hi All,

I'm an Occupational Therapist and I am completing my paper work to register with the COTRB (The registration board for OT's in Australia).

However my husband and I have just had thought will I be able to work in Australia? My husband is a teacher and he has been granted state sponsership from Victoria and is the main visa applicant.

(Visa application sent 18th March and we are due to have our medicals on the 24th April. Our case officer was allocated this week.)

Cheers Ruth

Hi All,

I'm an Occupational Therapist and I am completing my paper work to register with the COTRB (The registration board for OT's in Australia).

However my husband and I have just had thought will I be able to work in Australia? My husband is a teacher and he has been granted state sponsership from Victoria and is the main visa applicant.

(Visa application sent 18th March and we are due to have our medicals on the 24th April. Our case officer was allocated this week.)

Cheers Ruth

If you are granted a subclass 176 visa you will be allowed to work.

Hi Feeling rather thick now!!!

I didn't realise the 176 was the same as subclass 176!!!

The answers are out there if we look!!!!!!! but then many be a good nights sleep helped!!!! (Thank you Megan (1) for sleeping all night!!!!!!!!!!)

What does this visa let me do?

This visa allows you and any secondary applicants included in your visa application to live as permanent residents in Australia.

Australian permanent residents can:

• live and work in Australia on a permanent basis
  • study in Australia at school or university
  • receive subsidised healthcare through Medicare and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS)
  • access certain social security payments (subject to waiting periods)
  • be eligible for Australian citizenship (subject to the residency eligibility criteria)
  • sponsor people for permanent residence.

Cheers Ruth

• 9 months later...

Hi Lisa,