Qualification compatability??

Guest Jo/Ray@westcliffRugby

Can anyone help?

I am a beauty therapist and want to know if my NVQ 2 beauty certificate is compatabile with qualifications in Australia. I am currently studying for my NVQ 3 in middle of exams at moment. :arghh: !!!! I am also presently working in a spa/beauty salon in the UK as well as working for myself. I want to continue my career in Australia, otherwise it will be a waste the past thee years of studying for a career I am very much enjoying. I am very reluctant to give it all up. I have searched high and low and have contacted Beauty Colleges in Australia but to no avail or response :confused:

Joanna

Hi Jo,

Sorry cant really answer your question but didnt want to leave it unanswered. I have a nail tech qualification which was gain privately and was hoping to use it in oz. Were you asking as to whether you could go in on Beauty or you have another way in and wanted to do that when you got there??

It might be worth looking on the Oz job sites www.seek.com.au and see if any jobs of that discription available and email to say you will be arriving in "date" and would they accept your NVQ qualification etc. Might give you the answer.

Good Luck

Em x

Hello Em

I looked on your suggested website, thank you. I didn't know but my hubby had already registered with this particular website for his own line of work!! It is a very good website and after much searching found what I think I have been looking for. It appears that the UK NVQ 2&3 are similar to their diploma in Beauty. I have contacted another Beauty College in Brisbane to see if they can confirm this?

Our new life in Oz depends on wether my other half can get a sponsored visa. He'll 45 this year and isn't on the required skills list (even though he has a very good job in UK) means a permenant visa is out of the questions - but suprised how many agents have said its possible, am very sceptical think they just want the money.