Good Exchange Rate

Guest sydneystuey

Guest sydneystuey

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and this is my first post so be gentle :spinny:.

My girlfriend and I are started the emmigration process (she's an Aussie) and have opened an account with ukforex to transfer some funds to Australia. I've just started to monitor the exchange rate now and have noticed that £1/$2.20 seems to be about the average at the moment.

Do people think this is quite low, what are people's expectations about the current in 09? I've read many reports to suggest that the pound *may* strengthen given Australia's economic problems are lagged behind that of the UK/US.

I want to get the best deal for our money. We've been saving for 2 years for a deposit on a house in Sydney and the wrong decison could cost thousands of AUD if we get the timing wrong.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Stu

Guest sunseekers

Hi Stu

Im no expert at all but have been tracking the value for 12/18 months now, It peeked at 2.69 last Oct 08 and i greedily still hung on and regret it now. We are not really in any hurry as we dont need our lump sum till we buy a property which wont be till i see if the recession will knock dollars off the value of Oz properties so gonna hang on 12-18 months to buy.

From looking at its history over the last ten years and also from some finacial peoples predictioins iv looked at online it is my humble opinion that it will go up some around june/july 09. In any case i will buy if it hits 2.6 again . id be happy to get 2.45 upwards if i was in a hurry though.

Just my thoughts

Colette x ps ...anyone got a crystal ball hee hee

Guest sydneystuey

Hi Colette,