Moving to Melbourne-any advice really appreciated!

Guest Soph and Ju

Guest Soph and Ju

This is my first time writing on here and I can say it's already been really useful reading other people's advice on different topics on here, really could do with some advice ourselves! We are a family of 3 : Sophie(26) Julian (33) and Elise (7 months).

Hoping to move to Melbourne but really dont have a clue wherebouts we ned to be looking! Julian is a plumber and will be looking for work straight away, any advice on any particular areas in Melbourne would be greatly appreciated.

Sophie and family

Sophie, Julian and Elise

Visa 175 ackl. 04/08/08

Medicals 06/01/09 Police checks sent 08/01/09

Still waiting for CO!

The Melbourne area is a huge area for instance where I live it takes me over an hour to get to the main airport using the freeways in light traffic. The distances are great. Three million people live in Melbourne and it sprawls.

So first thing is what you do you like doing?

Do you want to live in high density housing ie flat, town house or a unit?

Do you want a house with land new one or old one?

Do you need to be near public transport?

Do you want to be near the beach or inland or in the hills?

Would you live in Geelong a city just south of Melbourne

Will you both work and how long a commute would you be prepared to take.

New housing is mostly on the fringe of the city in out areas such as Pakenham, Berwick,Narre Warren, Langwarrin, Carrum Downs, Lyndhurst, Cranbourne, Mornington, Mount Martha areas south of the city.

Point Cook, Sanctuary Lakes, Werribee, to the west of the city.

Also many new areas opening up to the north of the city but not near beaches. Melton and areas around there.

If you join Britvics forum as well as this one there will be a lot of people who can give you their experiences of living in different areas.