Successful HGV drivers making it to Oz!

Guest tilly01

Guest tilly01

Hi all,

My hubby (Brett 25), son (4 mths) and I (Gem 26) are looking to move to Brisbane. Brett is a carpet fitter and I have a degree in Graphic Design. We have been advised that we could apply for the 457 route through Brett - all sounds great - but… my parents (dad 50 and mum 52) and young brother (12) are also considering the move. Only problem is that dad only has his Class 1 HGV license.

We've been told that he could probably get a job working for the mining industry and any other kind of driving job is pretty much a no go area if a sponsor is needed. I'm looking for any HGV truckers out there who have successfully made it to Oz through this 457 route please and if anyone has any advise we'd be soooooooo grateful! We'd love to know the area that we would be needing to move (ie North or South?) and any companies that we could get in touch with please? Actually, any advise would be nice!

We look forward to hearing from anyone soon to help untangle the knots of confusion in myy head!! :wacko:

Guest christel

Hey..read your post and its a difficult one and Im not sure many would like to answer..its great you want to come here but you have to look at things seriously and talk to someone in the know, i mean a professional, not gossip like here lol..you may find that you and your family will be ok..but your parents may struggle as HGV is not a qualification over here and his age may also be against him..as far as I know you would have to have $700k plus (cash) for non qualifieds over a certain age just to come in under your own steam so to speak.