Rental income from uk property - how you claim it on your tax return

Guest Andy and Tracy

Guest Andy and Tracy

For those of you renting out your house in the UK - Hi all! I have replied to several posts and thought it might be useful to post this as a thread. This is how it works in the UK. I am sure it must be similar in Oz, but check it out. I am no expert, but I run our lettings business and this is what I do:

On your end of year tax return you include the figure that you have received in rent for the financial year MINUS all revenue expenses that you have paid out. This is entered as "unearned income". It may well be a negative figure if you have made a loss. (I presume this will then be deducted from your tax bill for earned income under this system once in Oz, but check this) If you are self-employed, you will automatically be sent a tax return. If you are not, ask for one from the tax office.

Revenue expenses are: mortgage repayments, buildings insurance, agents fees,phone calls to Agent, postage, cleaning, contract fees, gardening, window cleaning, replacing broken white goods in the kitchen, repairs, the list goes on - if you pay for any of this yourself you can reduce it from your rental income figure. KEEP ALL RECEIPTS. If you need to spend it on your house to keep the tenants in there, then generally it is an expense. You can deduct 10% for wear and tear from the original rental income figure, but this is in the UK. Just get an Accountant to complete your tax return whilst in Oz - he will surely know what you can claim as it may be different.

You cannot claim for alterations that would increase the capital value of your property - i.e. putting in a new kitchen or double glazing.