NSW Wollongong area - Need advice PLEASE :)

Guest LHD

Hi, this is my first time posting :unsure: I have so much going around my head, loads of questions, concerns..... I'm a bit of a mental mess actually lol..... Hoping for some help from those in the know.

This will probably be long, so sorry!

My husband and I have been talking about the prospect of moving to Australia for the past 6 years or so, but have never looked into it due to the normal things.... moving from family etc.

Recently I have made a new friend who is from Corrimal, Wollongong. She is here (UK) for the next few years with her husbands work.

She speaks so well of the Wollongong area.... great for families, schools, active lifestyle etc.... The kind of things that every mum wants for her kids upbringing and future. I have two boys aged 4 and 8 yrs.

So it prompted me to start looking into things, trying to decide if it would be better for the boys, check out our options and see if a move to Australia was even a realistic possibility for our family.

My husband and I think that it is worth looking into some more, so we are booked to attend Australian Expo '08 in London next month, which I think is mainly geared around recruitment and migration.

I want to check with you guys who live in that area what you think.... your expat perception of the area might be very different to someone who was born there - if you know what I mean.

So far I have been told that the schools are brilliant. Wollongong has the best Uni in Aus.

Weather is great.... No destructive weather like cyclones.... do get some crazy loud storms and very heavy rain at times tho.

Life style is great. Kids are encouraged to be active in sports. Beaches are safe, life guarded and clean. Lovely parks. Close to good shopping.

Bugs (ie spiders) aren't an issue... except flies and mozzies are a pain.

Not likely to bump into a croc on the beach....